reviews

Find out why you should go, to The Meat Co

Kingston Guardian:

6:07pm Friday 19th September 2014

Knowing when eating at The Meat Co that you are dining in its only restaurant in the country makes it feel extra special.

Food review: Maybe I've lived a sheltered life but this burger bar's alco-milkshake was sublime

Kingston Guardian:

2:53pm Wednesday 17th September 2014

When people said to me, “You could do with a good hard shake”, I didn’t know what they meant. Having experienced the joy of Blacks Burgers in Epsom I like to think I know exactly what they’re saying.

Upmarket Italian restaurant San Lorenzo welcomes diners like old friends

Kingston Guardian:

1:02pm Wednesday 30th July 2014

The friendliness of San Lorenzo keeps people coming back time after time.

Cau makes for a meat-eater's treat

Kingston Guardian:

3:41pm Wednesday 23rd July 2014

Like meat? Then Cau is the restaurant for you.

CAU steaks a claim on busy Kingston riverfront

Kingston Guardian: The bucolic interior of CAU

11:41am Thursday 19th June 2014

Argentinean streak house franchise CAU has landed in Kingston, and there are plans it could be on its way to Wimbledon before the end of the year.

For a perfect meal in a picture-perfect setting, head to Linnea

Kingston Guardian: Linnea: A wonderful dining experience

5:30pm Tuesday 3rd June 2014

Just a stone’s throw from Kew Gardens and next to the picturesque Kew Green, Linnea is in the picture-perfect location.

Are you game for the Lawn Bistro?

Kingston Guardian: Are you game for the Lawn Bistro?

5:30pm Friday 30th May 2014

Gourmands are spoiled for choice in The Village, but with so many establishments providing a similar offering, picking the right restaurant for the occasion can be a challenge.

Wanda reviews Clapham Tandoori

Kingston Guardian: Clapham Tandoori

6:00am Saturday 1st February 2014

I was on a quest for something spicy and a quick glance up from Clapham Common Tube station brought me to a wonderful curry restaurant.

Wanda reviews The Stonhouse, Clapham

Kingston Guardian: The Stonhouse, Clapham

9:20am Tuesday 14th January 2014

My new year’s resolution to eat more delicious food continued with a trip to the Stonhouse.

Wanda reviews Rodizio Preto, Wimbledon

Kingston Guardian: Wanda reviews Rodizio Preto, Wimbledon

3:36pm Monday 13th January 2014

Forget the New Year’s resolution to eat less, I have decided I am going to eat more.

Wanda reviews Honky Tonk, Clapham

Kingston Guardian: Chicken nachos from Honky Tonk, Clapham

6:00am Friday 20th December 2013

A slice of the Big Apple has landed in Clapham.

Ice cream delight

Kingston Guardian: Ice cream delight

10:29am Monday 9th December 2013

Whether you are feeling gluttonous or simply fancy a sweet treat, the menu at Afters is bound to offer something to tickle your taste buds.

Wanda visits Graveney & Meadow, Tooting

Kingston Guardian: Food on display in the Graveney and Meadow

6:00am Sunday 24th November 2013

The Graveney and Meadow is a bar, bakery and tapas restaurant all rolled into one.

GBK Wimbledon back from a refit and ready to take on all comers

Kingston Guardian: The Cajun Blue

2:25pm Wednesday 30th October 2013

Just a short stroll down Wimbledon's Broadway and you are assaulted by an almost overwhelming array of culniary choice.

All about sharing and feeling at home: Wanda reviews Chimichanga

Kingston Guardian: Chimichanga, Southside Shopping Centre

3:50pm Thursday 10th October 2013

Chimichanga is the latest restaurant to open in the expanding Wandsworth Southside shopping centre.

Review: Wanda visits Tooting's The Gorringe Park after major refurb

Kingston Guardian: A roast dinner at The Gorringe Park

8:00am Sunday 22nd September 2013

Tucked away on the fringes of Tooting you will find The Gorringe Park pub.

A dessert lover's dream: Review of Kaspa's Desserts, West Croydon

Kingston Guardian: CROY:VIBE: Review: Kaspa's Desserts, West Croydon

1:00pm Wednesday 18th September 2013

Before I had even sat down I had changed my mind twice about what I was going to order, but when I was handed the menu - well, that was it, my mind was blown.

Restaurant review: Istanbul Meze Mangal, Colliers Wood

Kingston Guardian: Restaurant review: Istanbul Meze Mangal, Colliers Wood

8:10am Friday 6th September 2013

FOOD BITES: If a Turkish restaurant opens up on my doorstep, it's inevitable I'm going to check it out. Even if it has taken over the spot of a previously unsuccessful and poorly reviewed Indian and not changed the decor, at all. We're talking huge revolving chandeliers, purple walls and damask wallpaper along with gold dado, and lilac faux silk string curtains...

Another week, another Antic pub opens: Wanda reviews The Hagen & Hyde

Kingston Guardian: Smoked fished sharer

3:00pm Thursday 5th September 2013

Located in what was formerly Blithe Spirit, the venue has had a makeover with a large upstairs dining room added to the back.

Industrial chic: Wanda reviews Tota and The Manor in Tooting

Kingston Guardian: Review: Tota, Tooting

7:00am Saturday 31st August 2013

The aptly named Tota, meaning people of Tooting, opened at the beginning of 2013 joining a host of new cafes along Upper Tooting Road close to Tooting Broadway station.

Restaurant review: Harrington's Pie & Mash, Tooting

Kingston Guardian: Restaurant review: Harrington's Pie & Mash, Tooting

8:10am Friday 30th August 2013

FOOD BITES: In the heart of Tooting in South West London, amongst the throngs of great Indian and Pakistani restaurants and market stalls, nestled in the bosom of a thriving and buzzing Indian sub-continent population, you can find a little nugget of London’s English culinary history...

Wanda: A slice of Belgian culture at Belgo

Kingston Guardian: Review: Belgo, Clapham

6:30am Monday 26th August 2013

Belgo brings a slice of Belgian culture to the streets of Clapham.

Discover the secrets of Japanese cuisine with Reiko Hashimoto

Kingston Guardian: Reiko Hashimoto in her kitchen in Wimbledon

12:00am Monday 26th August 2013

Japanese cuisine has seen something of a revolution over the last decade but long before Yo Sushi and Wasabi got in on the action, one woman in Wimbledon was quietly leading the charge from her own kitchen.

Restaurant review: Sticks'n'Sushi, Wimbledon

Kingston Guardian: Restaurant review: Sticks'n'Sushi, Wimbledon

9:55am Friday 23rd August 2013

FOOD BITES: When I visited Stockholm, I ate more cured salmon in five days than I did in the previous 12 months. You can even fish for the stuff in its waters; fishing for salmon in a capital city - imagine that. So it comes as no surprise to me that some of this fine flesh will make its way into the stomachs of residents and visitors alike in the form of sushi.

Good old-fashioned fun: Wanda reviews Powder Keg Diplomacy in Battersea

Kingston Guardian: Powder Keg Diplomacy

8:00am Thursday 15th August 2013

A trip to the Powder Keg Diplomacy transports visitors to Victorian London.

Perfect for al-fresco dining: Wanda reviews The Ship, Wandsworth

Kingston Guardian: Punters go mad for scotch eggs at the scotch egg challenge

8:00am Saturday 10th August 2013

When the sun is blazing outside all I crave is a beer garden and a glass of Pimms.

New restaurant Brasserie Vacherin hits the right note

Kingston Guardian: Malcolm John is concerned about his restaurant Le Cassoulet

6:00am Saturday 27th July 2013

Here at Vibe we love to try out different restaurants in the area. This week reporter Andy Bloss and his family took a trip to Brasserie Vacherin, Croydon’s newest French restaurant.

Luscious and savoury and a joy to eat: Review of Makiyaki, South Wimbledon

Kingston Guardian: Makiyaki interiors

8:10am Friday 26th July 2013

FOOD BITES: Makiyaki is a sushi restaurant situated on the busy Merton Road a mere five minute walk from South Wimbledon station on the Northern Line.

Welcome antidote to uptight bars: Wanda visits The Toy Shop in Putney

Kingston Guardian: Ralph the Robot

6:30am Thursday 25th July 2013

When I am on a night out all I want to do is have fun and forget about being serious.

Artistic barman is awesome: Wanda reviews Harrison's in Balham

Kingston Guardian: Harrison's in Balham

4:30pm Wednesday 10th July 2013

A bar, cinema and restaurant all in one, with the bar open until 2am at the weekend, perfect for a spot of dancing.

It ticks all the boxes: Pubspy visits The George in Croydon

Kingston Guardian: The George

10:10am Wednesday 10th July 2013

The George Pub is, as a Wetherspoons outlet, pretty much the same as all the others you go to, but it serves an excellent use.

Relaxed dining in kitsch surroundings: Review of The Breakfast Club, Battersea

Kingston Guardian: WAND LEISURE REVIEW: The Breakfast Club, Battersea

1:10pm Monday 8th July 2013

South Londoners rejoiced when The Breakfast Club, a popular chain of cafés, opened their doors in Battersea Rise.

Buzzing Alfresco vibe: Review of Alquimia, Putney Wharf

Kingston Guardian: Fillet of sea bream in chicken and vegetable sauce topped with crispy noodles

12:00pm Wednesday 3rd July 2013

Not a combination you would expect to see in what is a high end tapas bar, but which surprisingly worked well together.

Not just your regular chippie: A plaice to eat in style

Kingston Guardian: Fish and chip shop gives nearly £1,5000 to charity

10:28am Friday 21st June 2013

It may serve good traditional fish and chips but Ewell’s new restaurant and takeaway, the Major Plaice, is by no means just your regular chippie.

Unique flavours and plush surroundings: Vibe reviews Le Raj, Epsom Downs

Kingston Guardian: Chuto Chingri - tiger prawns marinated with beetroot, spices, honey and lime at Le Raj

10:00am Thursday 20th June 2013

If unique flavours and plush surroundings take your fancy then pop down to Le Raj Indian restaurant for a high-end twist on your traditional curry.

Review: Saffron, Purley

Kingston Guardian: Onion Bhajis

10:59am Friday 31st May 2013

I love a good curry and have eaten at various restaurants and ordered from a range of takeaways in my hunt for a menu I can happily work my way through.

Come for the burger, stay for the scotch egg: Review of Ben's Canteen, Battersea

Kingston Guardian: REVIEW: Ben's Canteen, St John's Hill

6:30am Thursday 16th May 2013

Ben's Canteen, in St John's Hill, Battersea, has fast gained a reputation for bringing delicious food to South London.

Healthy meals are the real thing: Review of The Good Earth, Wandsworth

Kingston Guardian: WAND YELLOW Review: The Good Earth, Wandsworth

11:30am Friday 26th April 2013

Food review: The Good Earth, in Bellevue Road, steers away from hydrogenated fats and dishes up healthy meals that are the real thing - something hard to come by in south London.

Review: Harrison's, Balham

Kingston Guardian: Review: Harrison's, Balham

9:20am Monday 15th April 2013

Harrison's, in Bedford Hill, Balham, has recently undergone a major refurbishment and I was anxious to find out what has changed.

Review: House of Roxy, Wandsworth

Kingston Guardian: Review: House of Roxy, Wandsworth

10:01am Tuesday 9th April 2013

House of Roxy, in Upper Richmond Road, is the latest addition to the Putney dining scene.

Review: The Ship, Wandsworth

Kingston Guardian: Review: The Ship, Wandsworth

3:20pm Tuesday 2nd April 2013

Legendary Young's pub The Ship, in Wandsworth, has recently undergone a major refurbishment.

Review: Chipotle, Wimbledon

Kingston Guardian: FOOD CHANNEL: Review: Chipotle, Wimbledon

11:39am Monday 11th March 2013

I love Mexican food, so I didn’t take much convincing when asked to try Wimbledon’s newest burrito bar.

Restaurant review: Open Sesame

Kingston Guardian: L-R Chef Ajim Uddin, Waiter Azmol Miah and Chef Abu Helal

5:40pm Friday 22nd February 2013

The elegant Sesame in Kingston Road oozes sophistication and splendour as you take a seat at one of its stylishly set tables, with burgundy decor completing the setting.

Review: Tota, Tooting

Kingston Guardian: Review: Tota, Tooting

4:05pm Thursday 24th January 2013

Tooting has always been a go to place for foodies and a new restaurant is adding even more variety to the area, writes Alexandra Rucki.

Review: Prezzo, Wandsworth

Kingston Guardian: Review: Prezzo, Wandsworth

4:58pm Tuesday 15th January 2013

By now most people have already broken their New Year’s resolutions, with the temptations of calories, booze and cigarettes hard to resist.

Review: Ed's Easy Diner, Wandsworth

Kingston Guardian: Review: Ed's Easy Diner, Wandsworth

2:54pm Monday 10th December 2012

A slice of the big apple has come to Wandsworth in the form of a new American diner.

Review: The Honest Italian

Kingston Guardian: Review: The Honest Italian

3:57pm Wednesday 28th November 2012

Where can you get great-tasting, wood-fired oven pizzas, fresh salads and traditional mains at reasonable prices – all served in a light, modern, friendly restaurant? Beverley Morrison find out.

Pizzeria sticks to the basics

Kingston Guardian: Via Caracciolo

3:25pm Thursday 15th November 2012

It seems there is an Italian restaurant on every corner, you can hardly move for your Strada, Pizza Expresses and Zizzi’s, so news an independent pizzeria was trying to muscle in on the action piqued my interest.

Review: Lahore Spices, Sutton

Kingston Guardian: Review: Lahore Spices, Sutton

5:23pm Tuesday 13th November 2012

Ahmad Maqsood is a man who knows a thing or two about running a restaurant. He was manager for 12 years of one of Tooting’s most popular Asian restaurants - the Lahore Karahi - before opening his own restaurant, Lahore Spices, in Sutton six weeks ago.

Gino's of Mitcham brings Italy to South London

10:07am Tuesday 23rd October 2012

A hidden gem in the heart of Mitcham provides sumptuous authentic Italian fare at a fair price.






click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree